PCB’s constitution 2014 restored, Najam Sethi appointed head of committee

Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif formed a committee led by Najam Sethi on Wednesday to lead the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) operations for the next 120 days.

For the past few days, media rumors have been claiming that Ramiz Raja might be removed as chairman of the board and be replaced by former PCB chief Najam Sethi.

ALSO READ: Whirlwind of changes expected in PCB in coming days

PM Shehbaz has addressed a letter requesting the committee’s formation to the Ministry of Inter-Provincial Coordination.


The cricket regime headed by Ramiz Raja @iramizraja is no more. The 2014 PCB constitution stands restored. The Management Committee will work tirelessly to revive first class cricket. Thousands of cricketers will be employed again. The famine in cricket will come to an end.

— Najam Sethi (@najamsethi) December 21, 2022


The 14-member committee comprising former cricketer Shahid Khan Afridi, former women cricket team captain Sana Mir, Shafqat Rana, Nauman Butt, Haroon Rasheed, Shakeel Sheikh, Gul Zada, Gul Muhammad Kakar, Ayaz Butt, Mustafa Ramday, Azid Saeed, and Ch Arif Saeed will overlook the affairs including the revamping of the PCB act 2014 and nullifying the 2019 act.

After receiving approval from the federal cabinet, a notification for the committee’s formation was released.

According to sources, several board members reportedly reached out to Najam Sethi to keep their positions. Chief selector Muhammad Wasim agrees that the position cannot be held indefinitely.

On the other hand, sources claim that Ramiz Raja is considering the possibility of a court case regarding his potential removal.

Even though the probable new arrangement appears to be ready in this regard, the immediate priority would be to seek a stay order, sources noted.

Source link

Leave a Comment